Utah Drinking Laws
Visitor FAQs on Alcohol Laws and Availability
Salt Lake is a place where diverse pastimes, cultures and landscapes come together in a modern mountain hub of the west. The vibrant urban metropolis is just 10 minutes from the new SLC International Airport and just 35 minutes to world class mountain recreation.
The bar scene bristles with thoughtfully curated live music, chef-driven food, skilled mixologists, and plenty of open-air patios for taking in jaw-dropping views of the nearby Wasatch Mountains. Salt Lake is brimming with bars, pubs and taverns that have established the city as a top-shelf destination.
Salt Lake Brewery Pass
If you enjoy a refreshing pint now and then, you’re going to love the Salt Lake Brewery Mobile Pass. Enjoy the area’s award-winning craft ales, lagers, porters, and ciders at 14 of Salt Lake’s best breweries and brewpubs.
Nightlife & Bars
As the sun sets over the Oquirrh Mountains, Salt Lake’s bars, clubs, and night spots light up with entertainment options. Choose from intimate piano clubs, a bohemian music scene, or high-end cocktail bars.
Events in Salt Lake
"Fun" means something different to everyone. For some, it's exploring mountain trails.for others, it's live music and beer. Salt Lake's event calendar is bursting at the seams with fun stuff for every inclination, every day and night of the week.
Salt Lake's Nightlife is Buzzing
While you probably didn’t think Salt Lake has a pretty good nightlife scene…
Salt Lake’s LGBTQ Bars
Salt Lake serves as a bastion of progressiveness, playfulness, and pride. In fact…
Drinking in Utah
Where can I buy a cocktail, glass of wine, or a beer in Utah?
Liquor, wine, and beer are available at licensed restaurants and bars seven days a week. Alcoholic beverage service in a licensed restaurant requires that food be ordered with your drink, and that it be delivered by an authorized employee.
Beer may be also purchased in establishments that have a "beer only" type license. These include taverns, beer bars, some restaurants or cafes, snack bars, etc. Beer service in a tavern or bar does not require that you order food. Persons under the age of 21 years may not be on the premises of certain "beer only" establishments.
Where can I buy alcoholic beverages to go?
- State Liquor Stores: All packaged liquor, wine, and heavy beer (more than 5% ABV) must be purchased from a Utah state liquor store. Get a complete list of all store and package agency locations here.
- Grocery and Convenience Stores: Beer and similar products like hard seltzers may be purchased at most grocery and convenience stores in Utah. Wine is not available in grocery stores and can only be bought at authorized state stores.
- Hotels: Alcohol must be ordered through the front desk, as they just need to check IDs.
May I bring alcoholic beverages into Utah?
- A person who enters Utah may possess for personal consumption and not for sale or resale, a maximum of nine liters of liquor purchased from outside the state.
- Utah’s state liquor and wine stores have excellent selections of wines, spirits, and full-strength beers. However, if you want a product that Utah Department of Alcohol Beverage Services does not normally carry, or is difficult to obtain, you may special order it in advance.
What is the legal drinking age in Utah?
You must be at least 21 years of age to purchase, possess, or be provided with any alcoholic beverage. Acceptable forms of identification include: a passport, U.S. driver's license or military identification card with a date of birth and a photo.
Special note for international visitors: a passport is required to confirm age eligibility to purchase alcohol. Do not leave your passport at your place of lodging or you will not be able to purchase or consume alcohol.
May anyone under age 21 (a "minor") be admitted to an alcohol-liscensed establishment?
Depends on the establishment. Minors are allowed at restaurants, but they are not allowed at bars or taverns.
During what hours may alcoholic beverages be served at Utah bars and restaurants?
Bars may serve all types of alcohol from 10:00 a.m. until 12:59 a.m. Taverns may sell beer from 10:00 a.m. until 12:59 a.m.
Restaurants can serve alcohol from 11:30 a.m. to 11:59 p.m. during weekdays, and from 10:30 a.m. to 11:59 p.m. on weekends.
Utah's DUI Laws
- Utah’s blood alcohol content limit is 0.05 percent, marking the strictest DUI law in the country.
- There is great coverage of the metropolitan area with Taxis, Uber and LYFT and Utah Transit authority busses and light rail, making it easy to get around for a night on the town.
Are there restrictions on consuming alcoholic beverages in public places?
Yes. State law prohibits consuming liquor in public places. A person may not be intoxicated in a public place to a degree as to endanger himself or another, or unreasonably disturb others. Consuming or having an open container of alcohol in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle is prohibited. As a general rule, alcoholic beverage may not be brought into an establishment that’s open to the general public if it is to be consumed on the premises. Wine may be brought into a restaurant that is licensed to sell wine. Corkage fees vary by restaurant. Exceptions are only when consuming alcohol at a public or community event that is permitted by the state to sell and serve alcoholic beverages.
International driver's licenses are not recognized as a valid form of identification for buying alcohol at state-owned liquor stores. Passports are required.