BOULDER, CO • March 28, 2011-Three members of the brewing community were
recognized and awarded for their dedication and service before a packed room at the Craft Brewers Conference (CBC) opening session. This year, CBC was larger than ever, with 3,900 attendees and over 50 different seminars.

Jennifer Talley of Squatters Pub Brewery/Salt Lake Brewing Co. won the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing. As the first woman to ever win this award, Talley was clearly honored and ecstatic to be recognized alongside the 13 other accomplished brewers who previously won the Russel Schehrer Award. She has been brewing for over 20 years, winning numerous awards and accolades along the way.

"Jennifer has won countless awards at the Great American Beer Festival® and World Beer Cup® against other beers that are of higher alcohol content in styles where alcohol is a key thread to carry the flavor of the beer," explained John Harris of Full Sail Brewing Co. "She has all of the character of previous winners of this award-a passion for beer, passion for our industry and passion for expanding her and her fellow brewers' knowledge."

The Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing was first given in 1997 to honor
Russell Schehrer's contributions to the brewing industry. Schehrer died in 1996 at 38 years of age and was a founding partner and original head brewer at Colorado's first brewpub, Wynkoop Brewing Co. He was also one of the first brewers to produce mead, doppel alt, cream stout and chili beer. BA brewery members submit nominations every year for the Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing. Previous award winners vote to choose the honoree from the slate of nominees.

The Brewers Association Recognition Award went to John McDonald of Boulevard Brewing Co. In 1989, McDonald founded the brewery and began hand-delivering Boulevard beer to local restaurants in his own pick-up truck. A longtime Brewers Association (BA) member-since the early 1990s-McDonald's brewery now employs over 90 people and has a capacity of approximately 600,000 barrels per year.
"John pioneered craft beer in a part of the country that did not have a lot of other active small brewers," said Rich Doyle of Harpoon Brewery. "He was a missionary of sorts and has built a great brewery, brand and business. He is also a very good guy."

BA members nominate candidates each year for the Brewers Association Recognition Award, and the BA Board of Directors votes to determine the winner. Lastly, the F.X. Matt Defense of the Industry Award went to Dan Kopman of St. Louis Brewery/Schlafly Beer. It is difficult to speak of Kopman and his brewery without noting that he has always worked in the shadow of Anheuser-Busch, also based in St. Louis. Nevertheless, his recognition at this year's CBC has much more to do with his leadership within the craft brewing industry and his work to ensure that his fellow brewers, and his 20 year-old brewery, are treated fairly by federal regulations. Dan has devoted countless hours and significant energy to promoting legislation that would recalibrate federal excise taxes for small brewers. "Dan deserves this award for his dedication and leadership on the excise tax bill," remarked John Pinkerton of Moon River Brewing Co. The F.X. Matt Award is given in honor of a champion of small brewers, F.X. Matt (1933-2001), president of the F.X. Matt Brewing Co. in Utica, New York from 1980-1989 and chairman from 1989-2001.

A list of past award winners follows:

Brewers Association Recognition Award Winners
2010 - Larry Bell, Bell's Brewery, Inc.
2009 - Ken Allen, Anderson Valley Brewing Co.
2008 - Dr. Michael Lewis, U.C. Davis
2007 - Jack McAuliffe, New Albion Brewing Co.
2006 - Chuck Skypeck, Boscos Brewing Co.
2005 - Carol Stoudt, Stoudts Brewing Company
2004 - Jack Joyce, Rogue Ales
2003 - Mary-Anne Gruber, Briess Malting Co.
2002 - George Fix, Clemson University
2001 - Jim and Bobbie Kennedy, Admiralty Beverage Russell
2000 - Ralph Olson and Ralph Woodall, Hopunion CBS, LLC
1999 - Bill Owens, American Brewer Magazine
1998 - Charles Finkel, Merchant du Vin
1997 - Jim Koch and Rhonda Kallman, Boston Beer Co.
1996 - Karl Strauss, Karl M. Strauss Consulting
1995 - John Hickenlooper and Russell Schehrer, Wynkoop Brewing Co.
1994 - Fred Scheer, Frankenmuth Brewery
1993 - Jeff Mendel, Institute for Brewing Studies
1992 - Paul Shipman, Red Hook Ale Brewery
1991 - Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Co.
1990 - Bert Grant, Yakima Brewing and Malting
1989 - Roger Briess, Briess Malting Co.
1988 - Fritz Maytag, Anchor Brewing Co.
1987 - Michael Jackson

Russell Schehrer Award for Innovation in Brewing Winners
2010 - Ken Grossman, Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
2009 - Steve Parkes, American Brewers Guild
2008 - Vinnie Cilurzo, Russian River Brewing Company
2007 - Matt Brynildson, Firestone Walker Brewing Company
2006 - Dan Carey, New Glarus Brewing Company
2005 - Greg Noonan, Vermont Pub and Brewery
2004 - Dick Cantwell, Elysian Brewing Company
2003 - Phil Markowski, Southampton Publick House
2002 - John Mallett, Kalamazoo Brewing Co.
2001 - John Harris, Full Sail Brewing Co.
2000 - Mark Carpenter, Anchor Brewing Co.
1999 - Fal Allen, Pike Brewing; Anderson Valley Brewing Co.
1998 - Garrett Oliver, The Brooklyn Brewery
1997 - John Maier, Oregon Brewing Co./Rogue Ales

F.X. Matt Defense of the Small Brewing Industry Award Winners
2010 - Steve Hindy, The Brooklyn Brewery
2009 - Eric Wallace, Left Hand Brewing Company
2008 - John Carlson, Colorado Brewers Guild
2007 - George Hancock, Pyramid Brewing Co.
2006 - Daniel Bradford, past BAA President
2005 - Marc Sorini, McDermott Will & Emery
2004 - Marc Sorini, BAA Counsel
2003 - Jim Parker, Oregon Brewers Guild
2002 - Mike McKinney, Texas Wholesalers Association
2001 - David Edgar, Past Institute for Brewing Studies Director
2000 - Fred Bowman, Portland Brewing Co.